Conference Schedule

AFMTE - Massage Therapy- Conference Schedule
With the theme of Creating a Culture of Teaching Excellence, the focus for our 2013 Massage Education Conference is on how we will create a culture of teaching excellence in the coming years.  This massage therapy education conference is created to give you valuable learning experiences with leading educators in our field along with ample opportunities for networking and enjoyment of the beautiful environment. Click for PDF of 2013 AFMTE Conference Schedule

2013 Conference Schedule

Creating a Culture of Teaching Excellence
July 18, 19, and 20, 2013

St. Charles, Missouri

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

4:00-8:00p    Registration opens


Thursday, July 18, 2013

6:00-8:00a     Breakfast at Embassy Suites
7:00-8:00a     Set up for exhibitors
8:00-9:00a     Registration opens
8:00-9:00a     Visit exhibitors
9:00-11:00a   Welcome, Introductions, Updates and Announcements
11:00-11:30a    Break and visit exhibitors
11:30-12:30p    Keynote presentation by Whitney Lowe

12:30-2:00p    Lunch provided in exhibit hall; visit exhibitors
2:00-5:30p    Teacher training: Ben Benjamin

5:30-7:00p    Reception sponsored by Massage Envy and Performance Health/Biofreeze Network and visit exhibitors
                        Chair Massage Fundraiser for the Massage Therapy Foundation provided by Massage Envy, St. Louis
7:00p-on    Enjoy dinner on your own


Friday, July 19, 2013

6:00-8:00a   Breakfast at Embassy Suites
8:00-9:00a    Visit exhibitors
 9:00a-10:30a    Business Meeting: Elections; Recognitions
10:30-11:00a    Break and visit exhibitors
11:00-12:00a    Keynote Speaker: Janet Kahn

12:00-1:30p    Lunch provided in exhibit hall; Educator of the Year Awards Winners; visit exhibitors
1:30-3:00p     Industry Trends and Concerns; Memorials
3:00-3:30p    Break and visit exhibitors
3:30-5:30p    Three concurrent 2-hour Workshop Sessions:

5:30-6:30p   Meet the Authors Gathering – Visit exhibitors
                       Champagne toast and light hors d’ouvres

  • Tim Agnew
  • Laura Allen
  • Mark Beck
  • Iris Burman
  • Nancy Dail
  • Ben Benjamin
  • Julie Donnelly
  • Sandy Fritz
  • Paula Jilanis
  • David Lauterstein
  • Whitney Lowe
  • Martha Menard
  • Carole Osborne
  • Cherie Sohnen-Moe
  • Ralph Stephens
  • Paula S. Stone
  • Ruth Werner
  • Terrie Yardley-Nohr

6:30p-on    Enjoy dinner on your own
7:00-9:00p Optional ELAP meeting with Anne Williams and Cynthia Ribiero (Rocheport room at Embassy Suites)


Saturday, July 20, 2013

7:00-8:00a   Breakfast at Embassy Suites
8:00-9:00a    Visit exhibitors
9:00-11:00a  Three concurrent 2-hour Workshop Sessions:

11:00-1:00p    Lunch provided in exhibit hall; visit exhibitors
1:00-2:30p    Issues & Solutions – How do we take the trends & the NTESP to the next level for CE Providers, Teachers,                         Administrators/Schools
2:30-3:00p      Break and visit exhibitors
3:00-4:00p      Wrap-up and Report from Breakout, Integration and Closing Ceremony
4:00-5:00p      Exhibitors break down booths
5:00-7:00p      Optional Strategic Planning Meeting (Trelora room at Embassy Suites)

Be Sociable, Share!